Report of the DTTB Selection Panel

Annex F

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The DTTB Selection Panel wishes to record its gratitude to the many people, companies and organisations who assisted in the Australian evaluation of the DTTB options.

The Panel notes that the selection of a modulation system is only one part of an activity that has been in progress for some time. The Panel's ability to make an informed selection is built on the foundation of information gathered and assistance provided over the preceding years. Thanks are due to the many participants in CCIR/ITU-R SG 11 who contributed to discussions on HDTV and DTTB systems and to the ITU itself for providing a forum for such discussions which greatly enhanced our understanding of the technologies involved. Thanks are particularly due to Ken Davies (formerly of CBC) and Stan Baron (NBC) for their effective leadership of the relevant Task Groups. Similarly, the work undertaken under the umbrellas of ISO/IEC JTC-1 MPEG and DAVIC forums contributed to our knowledge base. The organisers of, and participants in, industry forums such as Montreux TV Conference, IBC, NAB and the many HDTV conferences also provided valuable opportunities for Panel members to gather information. Assistance provided by CRC (Ottawa) and CBS (Montreal) and the HD-DIVINE group in earlier studies undertaken in Australia is gratefully acknowledged.

There were many Australians involved throughout the preparation, testing and analysis and it is impractical to list them all, but the efforts of Neil Pickford (DOCA) in the Laboratory tests, Ian Wyles (Nine Network) in organising the field test transmissions and Wayne Dickson (Ten Network) in supervising and reporting the field tests should be recorded. Of particular importance were the efforts of Graham Broad and RFS in providing the RF combiner that made the adjacent channel transmission feasible.

The following persons and organisations were very generous in the provision of assistance with the Laboratory and Field Trials. Without this assistance, the Panel would not have been able to approach its task with the level of confidence and surety needed to make a decision that will set the directions of television in Australia for many years.

ATSC

Robert Graves, Chairman ATSC Wayne Luplow, Zenith Corporation Richard Citta, Zenith Corporation Garry Sgrignoli, Zenith Corporation

DVB

Peter MacAvock, DVB Jeff Gledhill, NDS Gordon Drury, NDS

Equipment Suppliers

Comsyst Australia
Harris Corporation
NEC Australia
RFS Australia
Zenith Corporation
Hewlett Packard
Rohde and Schwarz